Scenes From the Holocaust

Daniel Bukin · Scenes From the Holocaust

Program Notes

This multi-movement work for chamber orchestra depicts periods of time in Europe before, during, and after the Holocaust.
The first movement is of a time before the events of the Holocaust. It is a merry dance featuring two iconic instruments to Jewish culture: clarinet and violin.
The second movement is of a time during the Holocaust. It describes the horrors inflicted countless Jews throughout Europe in numerous concentration camps.
The final movement is of a time after the Holocaust, whether that is the end of World War II, or today. Rather than depicting specific historic events, this movement is more about remembering those we have lost and looking forward to a bright future where these events are never repeated.


  • Flute
  • Clarinet (in B-flat)
  • Bassoon
  • Horn I & II
  • Trombone
  • Percussion I: Tambourine, Bass Drum, *Two Brake Drums, Chimes
  • Percussion II: Sizzle Cymbal, *Two Brake Drums, Rainstick
  • Piano
  • Violin I (one player)
  • Violin II (one player)
  • Viola (one player)
  • Cello (one player)
  • Double Bass (one player)

*The two brake drums are shared between both percussionists.

%d bloggers like this: